Fall Fest ended. I found my black orchid, but I didn’t see the Crone. For the best, really. I still have much to think on when it comes to the subject of wishes.

Draekyn has been absent, so I’ve had no one to discuss the matter with. Though, I can easily imagine what he would say. It is as though my conscience has adopted his voice.

***

I realised a little while ago that it has been a whole year (thereabouts) since we met. We walked back to the tree house where he found me. I had been staying there with Chuck. I had a blackened eye. I remember him cupping my chin to look it over. Asking how I had obtained it…

The tree house hadn’t changed at all. Maybe it was even a little worse than it was back then – more cobwebs, more weather-beaten. Draekyn suggested that we restore it a little, but I thought it best if we leave it be. Did it really look so bad when I was sleeping there? I couldn’t imagine sleeping in such a place now. Now that I am cared for, and spoilt.

I remember, that first meeting, he gave  me food and money. He said that the money was to pay for me to do a project: I was supposed to visit all of the towns and cities and write a guide of them. I never did complete it.

Thinking back on it, the amount of unfinished projects I have is really quite outstanding. From memory, and looking back on my notes, they’re as follows:

Bif’s unfinished projects

* Complete a guide to all of the towns.

* Complete my geology collection.

* Learn to fish.

* Project Gremlin Ground Force.

* The Junk Golem repaired.

* Find a translator of Sea Dweller writing.

* Make a gift for the South Beach Sea Dwellers.

* Experiment with cannibalistic tendencies and Gremlins.

* Self awareness in Trolls.

* Attempt to contact the Gremlin Cleb.

* Locate and explore the Gnomeish workshop.

* Sponsor Hyacinthe into Enchanterdom.

* Compete a Fieldguide page: Mire Hags.

And then ontop of that I must find my spells and complete my training. In the meantime, I mustn’t take on any new projects.

Hyacinthe I seem to have misplaced. I’d best write to him promptly.

Leave a comment